Yoshimi Battles the Pink Robots CD+DVD-Audio Scheduled for 23rd September

The release date for ‘Yoshimi Battles the Pink Robots’ by the Flaming Lips has been confirmed as September 23rd by Rick Gershon of Warner Bros. Records Publicity.

In a message circulated to the industry’s entertainment editors and some wire services, the contents of the “CD+DVDA” package – which consists of two separate discs and not a single hybrid – are detailed, but once again Warner Bros. falls flat on its face when it comes to promoting the benefits of DVD-Audio. Nowhere in the release does it mention high-resolution audio or the presence of a multi-channel version of the album, and even the words “DVD-Audio” are absent from the text!

Here are the contents of the news release:

Hailed as one of the most innovative and influential bands in modern music, The Flaming Lips will release a special Collector’s Edition of their critically lauded 2002 album, ‘Yoshimi Battles The Pink Robots’ (produced by The Flaming Lips, Dave Fridmann and Scott Booker), on September 23, 2003.

Packed with special features, the deluxe CD+DVDA edition includes all the original selections from ‘Yoshimi Battles The Pink Robots’, with such key cuts as the title track, (Part 1 and Part 2,) ‘Fight Test’ The Grammy® Award winning track ‘Approaching Pavonis Mons By Balloon (Utopia Planitia)’ and eight other essential Flaming Lips originals.

Other highlights are such rare and previously unavailable (in the U.S.) bonus audio tracks as ‘Up Above The Daily Hum’ the Japanese version of ‘Yoshimi Battles The Pink Robots PT. 1’ and ‘If I Go Mad’, the B-side to the UK single ‘Do You Realize?’ In addition, is the special ‘Floating In Space Remix’ and ‘CD101 (live)’ versions of ‘Do You Realize?’ and an acoustic rendition of ‘Yoshimi Battles The Pink Robots Pt. 1’ from AOL Sessions.

DVDA video selections contain two versions of ‘Do You Realize?’ one directed by Mark Pellington and the other by Flaming Lips frontman, Wayne Coyne. The videos of ‘Yoshimi Battles The Pink Robots Pt 1’, ‘Fight Test’ and ‘Are You A Hypnotist?’ are accompanied by documentaries chronicling the making of ‘Do You Realize?’, ‘Yoshimi’ and ‘Yoshimi 5.1’. Also spotlighted is the audio oddity ‘Phoebe Battles The Pink Robots’ (recorded for but never used in an episode of ‘Friends’), and the trailer for the film-in-progress ‘Christmas On Mars’, with an all-original Flaming Lips score.

Additional bonus material includes DVD ROM animated episodes of ‘Yoshimi Battles The Pink Robots Pt 1’ and ‘Fight Test’.

In other news, The Flaming Lips have accepted an invitation from their old friends the Red Hot Chili Peppers to tour the west coast in October prior to their upcoming European tour. Dates are listed below.

Meanwhile, the band has recently recorded the theme song for Cartoon Network’s animated series ‘Duck Dodgers’, featuring vocals by none other than Tom Jones recorded at famed Abbey Road studios in London. You can catch ‘Duck Dodgers’ on the Cartoon Network Saturday mornings at 11:30 with repeats on Sunday night at 8:00. Consult your local listings for further information. Also in the works is a new EP by The Lips scheduled for November release that will feature some brand new recordings as well as visual content. Details will be announced shortly.

Red Hot Chili Peppers with The Flaming Lips:

  • Wed Oct 10 Mandalay Bay Las Vegas, NV
  • Thur Oct 9 Cricket Pavillion Phoenix, AZ
  • Sat Oct 11 The Forum Los Angeles, CA
  • Sun Oct 12 TBA Los Angeles, CA
  • Tue Oct 14 Coors Amphitheater San Diego, CA
  • Fri Oct 17 Oakland Coliseum Oakland, CA
  • Sat Oct 18 Arco Arena Sacramento, CA
  • Mon Oct 20 Memorial Coliseum Portland, OR
  • Tue Oct 21 Key Arena Seattle, WA T