The Complete Songs by the Lars Erstrand Trio and Quartet

Opus3 Release ‘The Complete Songs’ by the Lars Erstrand Trio and Quartet

The Complete Songs’ by the Lars Erstrand Trio and Quartet is the latest SACD release from Opus3 Records. It is the label’s second pure Direct Stream Digital recording, wherein the entire signal path remains in the DSD domain throughout.

The Lars Erstrand Trio comprises vibraphone virtuoso Lars Erstrand – whose previous releases on the Opus3 label include ‘Dream Dancing’, ‘A Tribute to The Benny Goodman Quartet’ and ‘Two Sides of Lars Erstrand’ – jazz pianist Jan Lundgren, Hans Backenroth on double-bass and drummer Lars ‘Gus’ Dahlberg.

Featured soloists include Antii Sarpila (tenor and soprano saxophone), Bertil Fernqvist (electric guitar) and Lasse Tцrnqvist (cornet).

To quote Lars Erstrand from the disc’s liner notes:

Perhaps the most important hing I have learned in my fifty years of playing as a vibraphonist is the awareness of the enormous quality and variety of the songs composed in what commonly called ‘the great swing era’.

The Complete Songs’ was recorded on November 4th, 6th and 7th 2001, it is a 2/2.0 multi-channel recording so does not use either the LFE or centre channel. The track listing is as follows:

    1. A Nightingale Sang in Berkeley Square
    2. Let Me Call You Sweetheart
    3. Life Can Be So Sweet

A Hundred Years From Today

  • S’ Wonderful
  • Ah! Sweet Mystery of Life
  • Then I’ll Be Tired of You
  • Song of Songs
  • For You, For Me, For Ever More
  • Tea For Two
  • On the Sunny Side of the Street


The Complete Songs’ was recorded, produced and engineered by Opus3 founder Jan-Eric Persson, along with Lars Erstrand and Thomas Eberger. The title is available from the Opus3 web site.