Bryan Ferrys Boys and Girls

Bryan Ferrys Boys and Girls Album Released in SACD Surround Sound by Virgin Records/EMI UK

Bryan Ferry’s Boys and Girls album has been released as a new Hybrid Layer 5.1 Surround Sound SACD by Virgin Records and EMI UK as part of the 20th Anniversary celebration of this classic release. The new SACD is now available in the European market and follows earlier Hybrid Layer Surround Sound SACD releases of Bryan Ferry’s Frantic album (Virgin Records 7243-812138-2) and Roxy Music’s Avalon album (Virgin Records ROXYSACD 9) as well as a Hybrid Layer Stereo SACD release of The Best of Roxy Music (Virgin Records SACDV-2939).

Another Surround Sound SACD from the Avalon Production Team
Super Audio CD fans and High Fidelity Review readers will recall that Roxy Music’s Avalon has been widely praised for its excellent 5.1 Surround Sound SACD mix. In fact, the Surround Sound edition of Avalon is up for a 2005 Grammy Award this weekend in the first-ever Surround Sound Grammy category.

Fans will be pleased to learn that the new Boys and Girls Surround Sound SACD has been produced, mixed and remastered by the same team that was responsible for the Avalon SACD. That includes producer Rhett Davis, recording and 5.1 Surround Sound remix engineer Bob Clearmountain and ace mastering engineer Bob Ludwig from Gateway Studio in Portland, Maine.

Ludwig says that

“Working on Boys and Girls gave me the same ‘goose-bumps’ experience I got while doing the Avalon SA-CD. Boys and Girls was always one of my favorite Bryan Ferry albums and hearing the job Bob & Rhett did on the surround revealed many fresh musical dimensions and insights into this highly renowned recording.”

Boys and Girls
Bryan Ferry
SACD Surround Sound/SACD Stereo/CD Audio

(Virgin/EMI UK FERRYSACD6 and 7243-866883-2)

Boys and Girls was originally released in 1985 as a solo album by Bryan Ferry. It features 9 songs written and sung by Ferry, including well known favorites such as Sensation, Slave To Love, Don’t Stop The Dance, A Waste Land and Windswept. The album also features a host of guest musical stars including David Gilmour, Mark Knopfler, Marcus Miller, Nile Rodgers and David Sanborn. The Hybrid Layer Surround Sound SACD was made by VIVA SACD in Hong Kong.

Album Selections

  1. Sensation
  2. Slave To Love
  3. Don’t Stop The Dance
  4. A Waste Land
  5. Windswept
  6. The Chosen One
  7. Valentine
  8. Stone Woman
  9. Boys And Girls

The SACD Surround Sound Tracks
After listening to the SACD Surround Sound tracks of this disc, I’m convinced that fans of the Roxy Music Avalon SACD will want to get this one as well.

It’s very similar in its creative use of all 5 channels of the Surround Sound version of the album to involve the listener in Ferry’s music. The vocals and primary instruments star in the front channels while the surround channels feature musical accents, effects and some panning. A very effective 5.1 Surround Sound mix.

The Hybrid Multichannel Surround Sound SACD of Boys and Girls is now available for purchase at music stores in Europe as well as web stores such as Amazon.Co.Uk in the U.K., Amazon.De and Jpc.De in Germany, Amazon.Fr in France and Amazon.Co.Jp in Japan. It is also available as an import from the CD Universe web site in the U.S.