Universal Releases Ryan Adams SACD and Announces 5 Steely Dan SACDs

Universal Music continued its release of new Surround Sound Super Audio CD titles this week with the availability of the latest albums by rock artist Ryan Adams and classical music artist Andreas Scholl.

Universal Music also added several new albums to their upcoming SACD Release Schedule. Of most interest here is the news that Universal is working on 5 classic Steely Dan albums for release on Surround Sound Super Audio CD this summer. Here’s a rundown of this week’s SACD releases and news from Universal Music.

Rock N Roll
Ryan Adams
SACD Surround Sound/SACD Stereo/CD Stereo

(Lost Highway B0001910-36)

Rock N Roll is the latest album from rock singer Ryan Adams. It follows his popular album «Gold» which was released as a Single Layer Surround Sound SACD last year (Lost Highway 0088-170336-2). As the title of the new album implies, Adams performs 14 rock numbers which is contrast to the «alt country» flavor of some of his past material.

Album Tracks
1. This Is It
2. Shallow
3. 1974
4. Wish You Were Here
5. So Alive
6. Luminol
7. Burning Photographs
8. She’s Lost Total Control
9. Note To Self: Don’t Die
10. Rock N Roll
11. Anybody Wanna Take Me Home
12. Do Miss America
13. Boys
14. The Drugs Not Working

Andreas Scholl with Accademia Bizantina directed by Ottavio Dantone
SACD Surround Sound/SACD Stereo/CD Stereo

(Decca Classical B0001836-36)

Arcadia is a Surround Sound Super Audio CD edition of the new album by classical countertenor Andreas Scholl. According to Decca Classical, the album features «a seductive collection of world premiere recordings of vocal cantatas by Italian composers associated with the Arcadian Academy of Rome.» Performing with Scholl on the disc is the Accademia Bizantina directed by Ottavio Dantone. The Accademia Bizantina will be featured on their own Surround Sound Super Audio CD in May.

Album Selections
Destati Lidia Mia
1 Destati Lidia mia
2 Destati Lidia, chй se tardi
3 Lidia, il sonno sai cos’?
Quando penso agl’ affanni / Overtura
4. Allegro
5. Largo
6. Presto
Quando penso agl’ affanni
7. Quando penso agl’affanni
8. Tender puт lacci
9. Semplici pastorelli
10. Altro non amo che dolce pace
Sinfonia a quatro
11. Adagio
12. Vivace
Ecco che alfin ritorno
13. Ecco che alfin ritorno
14. La pietа che ancor non trova
15. Ma in tanto, ingrata Irene
16. Il nocchier nella procella
Concertino a 7
17. Adagio
18. Andante largo
19. Allegro
20. Grave
21. Presto
22. Vivace
Navicella ove ten vai
23. Navicella ove ten vai
24. Udite, udite audaci ingegni
25. Non v’affidi il sereno
Introduzione a quatro
26. Allegro
27. Grave
28. Allegro
Ferma ormai, fugace e bella
29. Ferma omai, fugace e bella
30. Ovunque il guardogiri
31. Gl’antri oscuri
32. Va, va che i lamenti miei

The new Ryan Adams Surround Sound SACD is now available at Best Buy stores. Both of the new Surround Sound Super Audio CDs are also available at web stores that carry SACDs including Acoustic Sounds, Elusive Disc and Music Direct.

5 Steely Dan Surround SACDs in June
Moving from this week’s new releases to upcoming Super Audio CD discs from Universal Music, there are several new additions to the list and some changes to the release dates to mention.

The big news is that Universal Music’s MCA label has announced plans to release 5 classic albums by Steely Dan in June. The release list includes an SACD Surround Sound edition of «Aja», an album that was once planned for release as a 5.1 DTS Music Disc years ago until some of the original master tapes for that album were discovered to be missing.

Also new to the release list are Surround Sound SACDs by country singer Gary Allen which is slated for release on April 27th along with SACDs by Diana Krall and The Wallflowers as well as Classical Music titles by Bryn Terfel and Helene Grimaud which had originally been slated for release on April 13th.

In May, Universal Records plans a Surround Sound SACD by rock group Godsmack and Verve Records plans to release a Surround Sound SACD by Jamie Cullum. Also in May, the two Allman Brothers Band Surround Sound SACDs have been moved back 1 week to May 18th for release.

Finally, a performance of Mahler’s 3rd Symphony by Riccardo Chailly conducting the Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra on Decca Classics has been added to the Coming Soon list. Here’s the latest Universal Music SACD release list with those additions and changes included:

April 6, 2004 SACD Releases

  • Oscar Peterson — Exclusively For My Friends, Vol 1: Action (Verve)
  • Oscar Peterson — Exclusively For My Friends, Vol 2: Girl Talk (Verve)
  • Oscar Peterson — Exclusively For My Friends, Vol 3: The Way I Really Play (Verve)
  • Oscar Peterson — Exclusively For My Friends, Vol 4: My Favorite Instrument (Verve)
  • Oscar Peterson — Exclusively For My Friends, Vol 5: Mellow Mood (Verve)
  • Oscar Peterson — Exclusively For My Friends, Vol 6: Travelin’ On (Verve)


April 27, 2004 SACD Release

  • Gary Allen — See If I Care (MCA Nashville)
  • Diana Krall — The Girl In The Other Room (Verve)
  • The Wallflowers — Red Letter Days (Interscope)
  • Bryn Terfel — Bryn (Deutsche Grammophon)
  • Hйlиne Grimaud — Credo (Deutsche Grammophon)


May 4, 2004 SACD Release

  • Godsmack — The Other Side (Universal Records)


May 11, 2004 SACD Releases

  • Vladimir Ashkenazy — Shostakovich: Piano Works (Decca Classical)
  • Jamie Cullum — Twenty Something (Verve)
  • Ottavio Dantone, Accademia Bizantina — Scarlatti: Il Giardinodi Rose (Decca Classical)
  • Joseph Calleja — Tenor Arias (Decca Classical)
  • Lang Lang, Piano — Live At Carnegie Hall (Deutsche Grammophon)
  • Mischa Maisky, Violin; Mehta, Berlin Philharmonic — Dvorak: Cello Concerto & Strauss: Don Quixote (Deutsche Grammophon)


May 18, 2004 SACD Releases

  • Allman Brothers Band — Eat A Peach (Mercury)
  • Allman Brothers Band — Live At Fillmore East (Mercury)


June 22, 2004 SACD Releases

  • Steely Dan — Aja (MCA)
  • Steely Dan — Countdown to Ecstasy (MCA)
  • Steely Dan — Katy Lied (MCA)
  • Steely Dan — Pretzel Logic (MCA)
  • Steely Dan — The Royal Scam (MCA)


SACD Releases Coming Soon

  • Count Basie & His Orchestra — April In Paris (Verve)
  • Riccardo Chailly, Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra — Mahler: Symphony 3 (Decca Classics)
  • Eric Clapton — 461 Ocean Blvd. (Polydor)
  • Eric Clapton — Slow Hand (Polydor)
  • John Coltrane & Johnny Hartman — John Coltrane & Johnny Hartman (Impulse)
  • Derek & the Dominoes — Layla (Polydor)
  • Antal Dorati, Philharmonia Hugarica Orchestra — Respighi: Ancient Airs & Dances for Lute (Decca Classics)
  • Antal Dorati, London Symphony Orchestra — Stravinsky: The Firebird (Complete); Tango; Scherzo а la Russe (Decca Classics)
  • Herbie Hancock — Gershwin’s World (Verve)
  • Joe Henderson — Lush Life: The Music Of Billy Strayhorn (Verve)
  • Shirley Horn — Here’s to Live: Shirley Horn With Strings (Verve)
  • Byron Janis, Antal Dorati, London Sympohny Orchestra, Minneapolis Symphony Orchestra — Rachmaninov: Piano Concerti 2 & 3; 2 Preludes (Decca Classics)
  • Tonu Kaljuste — Te Deum (ECM)
  • Eleni Karaindrou — Soundtrack: Ulysses’ Gaze (ECM)
  • Motley Crьe — Greatest Hits (Hip-O Records)
  • Paul Paray, Detroit Symphony Orchestra — Suppй: Overtures (+Auber) (Decca Classics)
  • Janos Starker — Bach: Six Suites For Solo Cello (Philips)
    Aja by Steely Dan (MCA B0002424-36) — Coming to Surround Sound SACD in June