Top Music Presents Kermit Ruffins in Super Audio CD

Kermit Ruffins, a popular Jazz Trumpeter from New Orleans is featured in the latest Hybrid Stereo Super Audio CD from Top Music International. The new SACD release is titled Monday Night In New Orleans and it features Ruffins performing 12 songs taken from his first three albums issued in the U.S. on the Justice Records label.

High Fidelity Review readers know that Top Music International is an audiophile label that is based in Hong Kong. They specialize in remastering albums with good sonics and bringing them out in Super Audio CD. In most cases, the SACDs are underwritten by an audio firm in the European and Asian markets. In the case of the Ruffins SACD, this does not appear to be the case as there is no mention of an audio sponsor.

Monday Night In New Orleans
Kermit Ruffins
SACD Stereo/CD Audio

(Top Music International TM-SACD 7011.2)

Monday Night In New Orleans features 12 well known songs performed by the well known Jazz trumpeter that got his start by performing songs made famous by Louis Armstrong. Ruffins is based in New Orleans and is known for throwing barbecue events for friends. This SACD includes some of his favorites such as Besame Mucho and Monday Night In New Orleans.

Ruffins says that “I think family is the most important inspiration in my musical life. Thanks to everyone that supports live jazz. To all New Orleans musicans: Don’t stop swingin’!”

The Monday Night In New Orleans Super Audio CD was remastered for SACD by Povee Chan on the SADIE DSD-8 Series 5 DSD Mastering Workstation. For this session, Chan used PMC TB2S-A speakers and the Isoclean Power Conditioning System. The Hybrid Layer Stereo SACD was made by Sony DADC on their SACD production line in Japan.

Listening to the Stereo SACD layer of the album, it does a nice job of bringing dixieland jazz to your listening room. Stand out selections include the title song Monday Night In New Orleans (track 3) and Light Up (track 8).

Album Tracks
1. Besame Mucho
2. The Undertaker Man
3. Monday Night in New Orleans
4. The Glory of Love
5. Happy Birthday
6. Pennies from Heaven
7. West Indies Jazz Dance
8. Light Up
9. After You’ve Gone
10. Ding Dong the Witch Is Dead
11. Hold On Tight
12. Honey Chile

Monday Night in New Orleans is now available in music stores throughout Hong Kong. It is also available in the U.S. through several web sites that carry SACD and Audiophile albums including Acoustic Sounds, Elusive Disc and Audiophile Resource.