Telarc Releases SACDs from John Pizzarelli, Yellowjackets & Cincinnati Symphony

Telarc and its Heads Up Jazz label has released the latest albums by John Pizzarelli, the Yellowjackets and Paavo Jarvi conducting the Cincinnati Symphony Orchestra in Surround Sound Super Audio CD. All three discs are “day and date” releases – arriving in music stores in both SACD and CD format on the same date. They are also all Hybrid Surround Sound SACDs, designed to play on SACD and CD players with the disc’s full potential and Surround Sound capabilities available when played on a Super Audio CD player.

Also worth noting is that the Pizzarelli and Cincinnati Symphony Orchestra releases are new Direct Stream Digital (DSD) recordings that Telarc refers to as “Pure DSD”. All three of the new Surround Sound SACDs were made by Sony DADC at their Hybrid SACD replication line in Terre Haute, Indiana. Here’s more information on these three Telarc SACD releases.

Knowing You
John Pizzarelli
SACD Surround Sound/SACD Stereo/CD Audio

(Telarc SACD-63615)

Knowing You is the John Pizzarelli’s 6th release and 4th Super Audio CD release on the Telarc label. It follows his last Surround Sound SACD entitled “Live at Birdland” – 2-SACD Set released in 2003 (Telarc SACD-63577) which was applauded for its excellent SACD sonics. Knowing You features Pizzarelli’s Quartet performing Broadway and Pop tunes by composers such as Jimmy McHugh, Frank Loessor, Alan Bergman and Johnny Mandel. The album also features a host of guest artists including his father, guitarist Bucky Pizzarelli – best known in hi rez audio circles for his Swing Live album on the Chesky label and clarinet player Ken Peplowski who has appeared on several Super AUdio CD releases including the Cincinnati Pops tribute to the Music of Nelson Riddle titled Nice ‘N’ Easy (Telarc SACD-60532).

Knowing You was produced by Robert Woods and recorded, mixed and mastered by Robert Friedrich. The album’s 5.1 Surround Sound mix places Pizzarelli in the Center of the Sound Field with the quartet and guest musicians placed primarily in the front channels. The Surround channels are used tastefully for the type of music on the album.

John Pizarelli Quartet
John Pizzarelli – Guitars & Vocals
Ray Kennedy – Piano
Martin Pizzarelli – Bass
Tony Tedesco – Drums

Guest Musicians
Harry Allen – Tenor Saxophone
Larry Goldings, piano and organ
Cesar Camargo Mariano, piano
Jessica Molasky, vocal
Tony Monte, piano
Ken Peplowski, clarinet
Bucky Pizzarelli, acoustic rhythm guitar

Album Tracks
1. Coffee, Black
2. New Sun in the Sky
3. Ain’t That a Kick in the Head?
4. The Shadow of Your Smile
5. Pick Yourself Up
6. Knowing You
7. God Only Knows
8. Quality Time
9. Eastwood Lane
10. I Just Found Out About Love
11. Say It (Over and Over Again)
12. That Face
13. How Long Has This Been Going On?
14. The First Hint of Autumn
15. If It’s the Last Thing I Do

Altered State
SACD Surround Sound/SACD Stereo/CD Audio

(Heads Up HUSA-9097)

Altered State is the newest album from the jazz quartet known as the Yellowjackets. It follows their earlier Heads Up Surround Sound SACD entitled Time Squared (Heads Up HUSA-9075). According to Heads Up, artist Peter Max of Yellow Submarine fame is a fan of the band. A new Peter Max painting, commissioned by the Yellowjackets, is the featured cover art on this album.

Keyboard player Russell Ferrante says that “The album is the result of what happens when four musicians get off the tried and true path and find some less traveled roads. It refers to that meditative place where one goes when you engage in whatever creative thing you do.”

Altered State was produced by the Yellowjackets, engineered by Bill Schnee with 5.1 Mastering by Paul Blakenmore at Heads Up. The liner notes emphasize that the SACD features a 5.1 Surround Sound mix by noting that “There are mix components that require the presence of all five main speakers. A subwoofer is also recommended.”. Giving the SACD a listen in Surround proves that is indeed the case. The disc has a lively 5.1 Surround mix with track 4 (Hunter’s Point) and track 7 (Free Day) being particularly effective in SACD Surround Sound playback.

The Yellowjackets
Bob Mintzer – Tenor & Soprano Saxophones, Bass Clarinet & EWI
Russell Ferrante – Acoustic Piano, Electric Piano & Keyboards
Jimmy Haslip – Electric Bass
Marcus Baylor – Drums

Album Tracks
1. Suite 15
2. March Majestic
3. The Hope
4. Hunter’s Point
5. Mother Earth
6. Youth Eternal
7. Free Day
8. Cross Current
9. Aha
10. 57 Chevy
11. Unity

Debussy: Prelude to the Afternoon of A Faun, Nocturnes, La Mer, Berceuse Heroique
Paavo Jarvi, Cincinnati Symphony Orchestra
SACD Surround Sound/SACD Stereo/CD Audio

(Telarc SACD-60617)

This the seventh Surround Sound Super Audio CD on the Telarc label that features conductor Paavo Jarvi. On this new Direct Stream Digital (DSD) recording, Jarvi conducts the Cincinnati Symphony Orchestra as they perform several well known compoisitions by Debussy including Prelude to the Afternoon of A Faun, Nocturnes, La Mer and Berceuse Heroique.

Telarc says that “The Debussy recording is the latest chapter in an outstanding legacy of recordings. His previous six Telarc releases have garnered lavish critical praise. Music of Ravel (Telarc SACD-60601) was awarded a Diapason d’or and also was named an “Editor’s Choice” in Gramophone. For his performance of Romeo and Juliet: Complete Suites from the Ballet by Prokofiev (Telarc SACD-60597), American Record Guide wrote, “If there’s any doubt that the Cincinnati Symphony is one of the world’s greatest ensembles, this release will quickly silence it.”

The album was produced by Robert Woods and recorded and mixed by Michael Bishop. The 5.1 SACD Surround Sound mix is very well done and nicely captures the fidelity and playing of the orchestra. Track 4 (Sirens) is effective in capturing the haunting nature of the chorus called for in this piece in the Surround Sound field.

Album Selections
1. Prelude to the Afternoon of a Faun

2. Nuages (Clouds)
3. Fetes (Festivals)
4. Sirenes (Sirens)

La mer
5. De l’aube a midi sur la mer (From Dawn to Noon on the Sea)
6. Jeux de vagues (Games of the Waves)
7. Dialogue du vent et de la mer (Dialogue of the Wind and the Sea)

8. Berceuse heroique

The new Telarc Surround Sound SACDs by John Pizzarelli, The Yellowjackets and Paavo Jarvi conducting the Cincinnati Symphony Orchestra are now available in music stores including Tower Records. They are also available from web stores that carry Super Audio CDs including Acoustic Sounds, Elusive Disc and Music Direct.

As with many recent Hybrid Surround Sound SACDs, the new Telarc SACDs are often found in the regular CD bins at stores like Tower Records. So check these bins as well as the Audiophile and SACD section when shopping for these discs at the music store.