Nine Inch Nails and Michael McDonald Featured In Latest Universal Music Surround Sound SACDs

The Universal Music Group continues its release of titles in Super Audio CD Surround Sound with two new SACDs. The latest albums are a Deluxe Edition of The Downward Spiral from alternative rock group Nine Inch Nails and Motown Two by Michael McDonald. Here’s some more details about the new Super Audio CD releases from Universal Music.

The Downward Spiral (Deluxe Edition, 2 Disc Set)
Nine Inch Nails
SACD Surround Sound/SACD Stereo/CD Audio (Disc 1) & SACD Stereo/CD Audio (Disc 2)

(Interscope Records B0003739-36)

The Downward Spiral by Nine Inch Nails is a new 2 Disc SACD which is part of Universal Music’s ongoing Deluxe Edition series of catalog reissues. Disc 1 of the set features the 14 original album cuts, now remixed into 5.1 Surround Sound on the SACD Surround track of the album and remastered for the SACD Stereo and CD Stereo tracks of the disc by James Brown with Trent Reznor at Interscope Studios. Disc 2 features 13 B-sides, remixes and demos in SACD Stereo and CD Stereo. The Deluxe Edition also features a 28 page booklet on the album along with new photos and graphics. The mastering of the SACD was done by Bob Ludwig at Gateway Mastering in Portland, Maine.

The album’s 5.1 Surround Sound mix varies from the subtle to significant use of the Surround Channels. In all cases, the Surround channels are used to enhance and support the music. It works well with the album.

According to Interscope Records ” Originally released in 1994, Trent Reznor created The Downward Spiral as both concept album and modern day classic, almost sounding like a nihilistic Phil Spector’s wet dream. This influential ‘90s classic is Trent Reznor’s industrial-cum-tragic opera view of the world and the soul’s sonically detailed fall from grace. The Downward Spiral delves into despair and anger with hard guitars and brutal beats.”

Disc One – SACD Surround Sound/SACD Stereo/CD Audio
1. Mr. Self Destruct
2. Piggy
3. Heresy
4. March Of The Pigs
5. Closer
6. Ruiner
7. The Becoming
8. I Do Not Want This
9. Big Man With A Gun
10. A Warm Place
11. Eraser
12. Reptile
13. The Downward Spiral
14. Hurt

Disc Two – SACD Stereo/CD Audio
1. Burn
2. Closer (Precursor)
3. Piggy (Nothing Can Stop Me Now)
4. A Violet Fluid
5. Dead Souls
6. Hurt (Quiet)
7. Closer To God
8. All The Pigs, All Lined Up
9. Memorabilia
10. The Downward Spiral (The Bottom)
11. Ruiner (Demo)*
12. Liar (Reptile Demo)*
13. Heresy (Demo)*

*Previously Unreleased

A single disc DualDisc edition of the album has also been released by the label. It will include the 14 album tracks on the CD Audio side of the disc. On the DVD side of the Dual Disc, the album will feature a Video in Surround Sound and Stereo of “Closer”, Videos of “March Of The Pigs” and “Hurt”.

Motown Two
Michael McDonald
SACD Surround Sound/SACD Stereo/CD Audio

(Motown Records B0003472-36)

Motown Two is the follow up album to Michael McDonald’s surprise hit album entitled Motown. As with his prior album, it features the popular singer interpreting 14 classic Motown tunes. To add some spice to the new album, it features guest appearances by Stevie Wonder on Harmonica, Billy Preston on Organ and a duet with singer Toni Braxton.

The album features an excellent 5.1 Surround Sound mix. It places McDonald’s vocals in the Center Channel, the main instruments in the front channels with the surrounds used for percussion, backing vocals, panning and effects and hand claps.

The Motown Two album was produced by Simon Climie and mixed by Mick Guzauski. This team was also responsible for the album’s 5.1 Surround Sound mix as well as the 5.1 Surround Sound mix on the recent 461 Ocean Boulevard and Layla Surround Sound SACDs by Eric Clapton and Derek and the Dominoes. The mastering of the SACD was done by Bob Ludwig at Gateway Mastering in Portland, Maine.

Album Selections
1. Your All I Need To Get By
2. I Was Made For Loving Her [Featuring Stevie Wonder on Harmonica]
3. Reach Out, I’ll Be There
4. Stop, Look, Listen (To Your Heart) [Duet with Toni Braxton]
5. Baby I Need Your Lovin’
6. Loving You Is Sweeter Than Ever
7. The Tracks Of My Tears
8. What’s Goin’ On
9. I Second That Emotion
10. After The Dance
11. Nowhere To Run
12. Tuesday Heartbreak
13. Mercy Mercy Me
14. Baby I’m For Real

The new Nine Inch Nails and Michael McDonald Super Audio CDs are now available at web sites that sell SACDs including Acoustic Sounds, CD Universe, Elusive Disc and Music Direct. These web sites also are stocking the None Inch Nails Dual Disc edition.

You’ll also find the Nine Inch Nails SACD at music stores including Best Buy and Tower Records. However, the Nine Inch Nails SACD is generally filed with in the regular CD section rather than with the audiophile and SACD discs located elsewhere in these stores.

Upcoming Universal Music SACD Release List
Unlike many prior weeks, this week’s Universal Music Release List remains unchanged. Here’s what Universal Music has coming up in terms of Super Audio CD releases in the U.S. market:

December 7, 2004 SACD Release

  • Keane – Hopes and Fears (Interscope)

    January 11, 2005 SACD Releases

  • The Carpenters – Singles: 1969-1981 (A&M Records)
  • Riccardo Chailly, Royal Concertgebouw Orch – Mahler: Symphony 9 (Decca Classical)
  • Valery Gergiev, Kirov Orch – Shostakovich: Symphony 4 (Philips Classical)
  • Anne Sofie Mutter, Andre Previn, London Symphony Orchestra – Tchaikovsky & Korngold: Violin Concertos (Deutsche Grammophon)
  • Thomas Quasthoff – Bach: Cantatas (Deutsche Grammophon)

    January 25, 2005 SACD Releases

  • Jerry Goldsmith – The Great Train Robbery (Varese Sarabande)
  • Jerry Goldsmith – Timeline (Varese Sarabande)

    February 15, 2005 SACD Release

  • Beck – TBA (Geffen)

    SACD Releases Coming Soon

  • Count Basie & His Orchestra – April In Paris (Verve)
  • Dorati, Enescu, London Symphony Orch – Liszt: Hungarian Rhapsodies (Decca Classics)
  • John Fogerty – Deja Vu All Over Again (Geffen)
  • Ferenc Fricsay – Rosette Collection: Mozart: Magic Flute (Deutsche Grammophon)
  • Tonu Kaljuste – Te Deum (ECM)
  • Eleni Karaindrou – Soundtrack: Ulysses’ Gaze (ECM)
  • Bob Marley & the Wailers – Burnin’ (Island)
  • Christina Milian – It’s About Time (Island)
  • Motley Crьe – Greatest Hits (Hip-O Records)
  • Zimerman, Polish Festival Orchestra – Chopin: Piano Concertos No. 1 & 2 (Deutsche Grammophon)
  • Linda Ronstadt – Humming to Myself (Verve)
  • Andreas Scholl – Senesino Album (Decca Classics)