News on Bob Marley and Eric Clapton SACDs from Universal Music

Bob Marley & the Wailers album Burnin’ is one of three new Surround Sound Super Audio CDs slated for release in November from the Universal Music Group. Universal Music also provided more information on the three upcoming Surround Sound SACDs by Eric Clapton over the weekend along with some SACD Release Date changes. Here’s a look at the highlights of these announcements.

Bob Marley Added to SACD Plans
This weekend’s revisions to the Universal Music SACD Release List involve moving Michael McDonald’s Motown Two Surround Sound SACD from October 26th to November 9th and moving up Andrea Bocelli’s Surround Sound SACD entitled Andrea from the Coming Soon list to an in store date of November 9th.

The most interesting SACD release news this week involves the addition of Bob Marley & the Wailer’s album Burnin’ to the list of Surround Sound SACDs due out on November 9th according to Universal Music’s New Formats web site. Also new to a November 9th release date from the Coming Soon list on the web site is the Surround Sound SACD edition of Rosette Collection: Mozart: Magic Flute by Ferenc Fricsay on the Deutsche Grammophon label.

  • Andrea Bocelli – Andrea (Philips Classics)
  • Ferenc Fricsay – Rosette Collection: Mozart: Magic Flute (Deutsche Grammophon)
  • Bob Marley & the Wailers – Burnin’ (Island)
  • Michael McDonald – Motown Two (Motown)

    More Information on the Eric Clapton SACDs
    Universal Music also provided some additional information on the three upcoming Surround Sound SACDs by Eric Clapton. Universal says that the albums 461 Ocean Boulevard by Clapton and Layla by Derek and the Dominoes will feature “a new SACD Surround Sound mix by the current Eric Clapton production team of producer Simon Climie and engineer Mick Guzauski and totally remastered SACD and CD Audio Stereo programs. All were created using the original analog master tapes.”

    The 461 Ocean Boulevard Surround Sound SACD will feature three bonus tracks not on the Stereo CD edition of the album. The bonus tracks will be Walkin’ Down The Road, Ain’t That Lovin’ You and Meet Me (Down At The Bottom). A separate 2 CD Deluxe Edition of the album will be issued a week later on November 9th.

    Turning to the Slowhand Surround Sound SACD, Universal has announced that this one will feature a new Surround Sound mix done by the original producer of the album Glyn Johns. As with 461 Ocean Boulevard and Layla, Slowhand will also feature remastered SACD and CD Audio tracks created from the original analog master tapes.

  • Eric Clapton – 461 Ocean Boulevard (Polydor)
  • Eric Clapton – Slow Hand (Polydor)
  • Derek & the Dominoes – Layla (Polydor)

    Upcoming Universal Music SACD Release List
    Here’s the complete list of upcoming SACDs from Universal Music in the U.S. market that includes the additions and changes mentioned above:

    September 28, 2004 SACD Release

  • Marvin Gaye – The Marvin Gaye Collection (Motown)

    October 12, 2004 SACD Releases

  • Argerich & Pletnev – Cinderella Suite from the Ballet for 2 Pianos & La Mere (Deutsche Grammophon)
  • Antal Dorati, Philharmonia Hugarica Orchestra – Respighi: Ancient Airs & Dances for Lute (Mercury Living Classics)
  • Antal Dorati, London Symphony Orchestra – Stravinsky: The Firebird (Complete); Tango; Scherzo а la Russe (Mercury Living Classics)
  • Byron Janis, Antal Dorati, London Sympohny Orchestra, Minneapolis Symphony Orchestra – Rachmaninov: Piano Concerti 2 & 3; 2 Preludes (Mercury Living Classics)
  • Paul Paray, Detroit Symphony Orchestra – Suppй: Overtures (+Auber) (Mercury Living Classics)
  • Janos Starker – Bach: Six Suites For Solo Cello (2 SACD Set) (Mercury Living Classics)
  • Bryn Terfel, Claudio Abbado, Chamber Orchestra Europe – Mozart: Don Giovanni (3 SACD Box Set) (Deutsche Grammophon)
  • Jaap van Zweden, Residentie Orchestra – Beethoven: Complete Symphonies (5 SACD Box Set) (Philips)

    October 26, 2004 SACD Releases

  • Eric Clapton – 461 Ocean Boulevard (Polydor)
  • Eric Clapton – Slow Hand (Polydor)
  • Derek & the Dominoes – Layla (Polydor)
  • Nick Drake – A Collection [Greatest Hits] (Island)
  • Elton John – Captain Fantastic (Universal/Rocket)
  • Elton John – Elton John (Universal/Rocket)
  • Elton John – Honky Chateau (Universal/Rocket)
  • Elton John – Madman Across The Water (Universal/Rocket)
  • Elton John – Tumbleweed Connection (Universal/Rocket)

    November 9, 2004 SACD Releases

  • Chet Baker – Baker’s Holiday: Chet Baker Plays & Sings The Billie Holiday Songbook (Verve)
  • Andrea Bocelli – Andrea (Philips Classics)
  • The Carpenters – Singles: 1969-1981 (A&M Records)
  • John Coltrane & Johnny Hartman – John Coltrane & Johnny Hartman (Impulse)
  • Cotrubas, Domingo, Kleiber, Bayerischer, Staatsorchester – Verdi: La Traviata (2 SACD Set) (Deutsche Grammophon)
  • Richard Croft, Minkowski, Les Musiciens du Louvre – Gluck: Orphee et Eurydice (Deutsche Grammophon)
  • Antal Dorati, London Sympohny Orchestra – Rimsky-Korsakov: Capriccio Espagnol (Mercury Living Presence)
  • Charles Dutoit – Poeme (Philips Classics)
  • Frederick Fennell, Eastman Wind Ensemble – Sousa Marches (Mercury Living Classics)
  • Renee Fleming – Handel (Decca Classics)
  • Juan Diego Florez – Great Tenor Arias (Decca Classics)
  • Ferenc Fricsay – Rosette Collection: Mozart: Magic Flute (Deutsche Grammophon)
  • Paul Mc Creesh, Gabrieli Consort & Players – Music for San Rocco (Deutsche Grammophon)
  • Hilary Hahn, Colin Davis, London Symphony Orchestra – Elgar: Violin Concerto Op. 61 & Williams: The Lark Ascending (Deutsche Grammophon)
  • Herbie Hancock – Gershwin’s World (Verve)
  • Howard Hanson, Eastman Rochester Orchestra – Hanson: Symphonies No. 1 (Nordic) & 2 (Romantic); Song of Democracy (Mercury Living Classics)
  • Joe Henderson – Lush Life: The Music of Billy Strayhorn (Verve)
  • Shirley Horn – Here’s to Live: Shirley Horn With Strings (Verve)
  • Elton John – Peachtree Road (Universal/Rocket)
  • Los Romeros, Victor Alessandro, San Antonio Symphony Orchestra – Rodrigo: Concierto de Aranjuez (Mercury Living Presence)
  • Bob Marley & the Wailers – Burnin’ (Island)
  • Michael McDonald – Motown Two (Motown)
  • Anna Netrebko, Claudio Abbado, Mahler Chamber Orchestra – Sempre Libera (Deutsche Grammophon)
  • Seiji Ozawa, Saito Kinen Orchestra – Bruckner: Symphony No. 7 (Philips Classics)
  • Paul Paray, Detroit Symphony Orchestra – Chabrier: Espana, Rhapsody & Roussel: Suite in F (Mercury Living Presence)

    SACD Releases Coming Soon

  • Count Basie & His Orchestra – April In Paris (Verve)
  • Dorati, Enescu, London Symphony Orch – Liszt: Hungarian Rhapsodies (Decca Classics)
  • John Fogerty – Deja Vu All Over Again (Geffen)
  • Tonu Kaljuste – Te Deum (ECM)
  • Eleni Karaindrou – Soundtrack: Ulysses’ Gaze (ECM)
  • Keane – Hopes and Fears (Interscope)
  • Christina Milian – It’s About Time (Island)
  • Motley Crьe – Greatest Hits (Hip-O Records)
  • Anne Sofie Mutter, Andre Previn, London Symphony Orchestra – Tchaikovsky & Korngold: Violin Concertos (Deutsche Grammophon)
  • Nine Inch Nails – Downward Spiral (Interscope)
  • Zimerman, Polish Festival Orchestra – Chopin: Piano Concertos No. 1 & 2 (Deutsche Grammophon)
  • Linda Ronstadt – Humming to Myself (Verve)
  • Andreas Scholl – Senesino Album (Decca Classics)