Naxos Announces Its First 3 SACD Releases

This week, the Hong Kong division of Naxos has announced its first three SACD releases. Two of these SACD releases are Stereo SACDs while the third is a Multichannel/Stereo SACD disc.

Naxos is well known as a music label that offers a full range of classical music at a budget price. They also strive to create a diverse catalog of selections by only selling one performance of each musical work.

The initial Naxos SACD releases and the music on each are as follows:

Vivaldi: The Four Seasons
David Juritz, Conductor /
London Mozart Players
Multichannel and Stereo SACD
(Naxos Hong Kong 5.110001SACD)

Spring: Concerto in E major, Op. 8 No. 1, RV269
1. Allegro 03:07
2. Largo e pianissimo 02:34
3. Danza pastorale: Allegro 03:43

Summer: Concerto in G minor, Op. 8 No. 2, RV 315
4. Allegro 05:10
5. Adagio 02:17
6. Presto 02:40

Autumn: Concerto in F major, Op. 8 No. 3, RV293
7. Allegro 05:03
8. Adagio 02:07
9. La Caccia: Allegro 03:04

Winter: Concerto in F minor, Op. 8 No. 4, RV297
10. Allegro non molto 03:09
11. Largo e cantabile 01:40
12. Allegro 03:04

Concerto in D major for violin and double orchestra, RV582
“The Assumption of the Virgin Mary”
13. Allegro 05:04
14. Grave 01:47
15. Allegro 04:52

Concerto in C major for violin and double orchestra, RV581
“The Assumption of the Virgin Mary”
16. Adagio e staccato – Allegro ma poco 04:43
17. Largo 02:39
18. Allegro 04:42

(Album Playing Time: 62:39)

Gustav Holst: The Planets / The Mystic Trumpeter
Claire Rutter, Soprano
Ladies of RSNO Chorus
Royal Scottish National Orchestra
David Lloyd-Jones
Stereo SACD
(Naxos Hong Kong 8.555776SACD)

The Planets
1. Mars, The Bringer of War 07:03
2. Venus, The Bringer of Peace 08:32
3. Mercury, The Winged Messenger 03:59
4. Jupiter, The Bringer of Jollity 08:00
5. Saturn, The Bringer of Old Age 09:21
6. Uranus, The Magician 06:12
7. Neptune, The Mystic 06:53

The Mystic Trumpeter, Op. 18
8. Scena for Soprano and Orchestra
(ed. Colin Matthews & Imogen Holst) 18:37
(Album Playing Time: 75:18 )

Virtuoso Pieces of Chinese Percussion, Yim Hok Man
Xia Fei-yun, Conductor
The Central Virtuosi China Broadcasting Chinese Orchestra
Stereo SACD
(Naxos Hong Kong 8.225936SACD)

1. Poem of Chinese Drum 10:05
2. Duck’s Quarrel (Xi’an Drum Music) 05:23
3. Deep Night (Beijing Opera) 11:13
4. Triumphal Return of Fishing Boats (Gong and Drum Music of Zhoushan Islands) 08:44
5. Flying Dragons and Leaping Tigers (Eastern Zhejiang Gong and Drum Music) 07:24
6. Camel Bells in Tibet (for Percussion Ensemble) 09:20
7. Popular Festivity (for Chaozhou Big Gong and Drum Ensemble) 08:46
8. The Menacing Tiger (Xian Percussion Music) 04:11
(Album Playing Time: 65:06 )

Visit the Naxos Hong Kong web site (see link below) to place your orders for these three upcoming SACD releases.