Nat King Coles Greatest Hits in Super Audio CD Stereo

A collection of 17 of Nat King Cole’s Greatest Hits are now available on a new Hybrid Layer Stereo Super Audio CD from Top Music International. The new SACD is entitled “The King of Sound” and is another in the series of Audiophile Super Audio CD releases from Top Music International.

High Fidelity Review readers are familiar with Top Music International and their practice of releasing audiophile music samplers as well as reissues of well recorded albums as Super Audio CDs in partnership with Audiophile Equipment makers. In this instance, Top Music has teamed up with Tivoli Audio and one of their Asian market distributors – Sonata Club – to sponsor this collection.

The King of Sound
Nat King Cole
SACD Stereo/CD Audio

(Top Music International TM-SACD 9006.2)

The King of Sound features 17 of the singer’s best known songs, including four that reached the Number 1 position on the music charts. The booklet that comes with the SACD features biographical information on Nat King Cole along with product information from SACD sponsor Tivoli Audio.

According to the SACD specialists at Elusive Disc “The King of Sound is the right phrase to describe the legendary Nat King Cole. How can you forget the silky and velvety voice that is ever so present with timeless melodies included here such as “Mona Lisa,” “Straighten Up And Fly Right,” “For Sentimental Reasons,” “Route 66,” and his signature song, “Unforgettable,” plus many more. This new Super Audio CD is Highly Recommended By The Entire Elusive Disc Staff!!! Great Sound!!! This disc allows the listener to enjoy many of the finest recordings Nat King Cole ever made on SACD!” (I’ll second the Elusive Disc staff’s recommendation of Track 13 “Straighten Up & Fly Right” – I think it’s the highlight on this SACD.)

The Super Audio CD was mastered by Povee Chan on the SADiE DSD 8 Series 5 DSD Workstation. Chan used PMC TB2S-A monitor speakers and the Isoclean Power Conditioning System and Top Music’s “High Precision Mastering/Non-Distortion Technology” in mastering the disc. The Hybrid SACD was made by Sonopress in Europe.

Album Tracks
1. Unforgettable
2. Mona Lisa
3. Nature Boy
4. Smile
5. Sweet Lorraine
6. For Sentimental Reasons
7. Tenderly
8. Blue Gardenia
9. A Blossom Fell
10. Walkin’ My Baby Back Home
11. Route 66
12. It’s Only A Papermoon
13. Straighten Up And Fly Right
14. Too Young
15. For All We Know
16. Answer Me My Love
17. Darling Je Vous Aime Beaucoup

The Hybrid SACD Stereo edition of The King of Sound by Nat King Cole is now in stock and available from the Audiophile Resource and Elusive Disc web sites in the United States. You will also find the Nat King Cole SACD as a pre-order selection at the Acoustic Sounds web site in the U.S. It is also available from music stores and web sites in Hong Kong and Asia, including the Top Music International web site as well as via some sellers on eBay. The earlier Hybrid Stereo Super Audio CDs from Top Music International are available from all of these outlets as well.