Linn Releases 2 Surround Sound SACDs in U.S. [HFR]

Linn Records continues to roll out its Super Audio CD catalog in the U.S. this week with two Surround Sound SACDs. The new releases, which were previously available only in Europe, are a tribute album to Bob Dylan by singer Barb Jungr and an album of Baroque Recorder Concertos by Pamela Thornby.

Here’s more information on these two additional Hybrid Surround Sound Super Audio CD releases. Both discs are playable on SACD, CD and SACD compatible DVD Video players and equipment.

Every Grain of Sand: Barb Jungr Sings Bob Dylan
Barb Jungr
SACD Surround Sound/SACD Stereo/CD Stereo

(Linn Records AKD 230)

Every Grain of Sand features singer Barb Jungr performing 15 well known Dylan tunes. The album was originally issued on a Stereo CD in March, 2002 and was just recently issued this month as a Hybrid Layer Surround Sound Super Audio CD. Linn Records provided us with a review of the disc from The Observer which said “Shockingly expressive, with an astonishing palette of colours. I just hope that Dylan himself has a listen and starts writing for her direct.”

Album Selections
1. I’ll Be Your Baby Tonight
2. If Not For You
3. Things Have Changed
4. Ring Them Bells
5. Not Dark Yet
6. Don’t Think Twice, It’s All Right
7. Is Your Love in Vain?
8. It’s All Over Now, Baby Blue
9. I Want You
10. Sugar Baby
11. Born in Time
12. What Good Am I?
13. Tangled Up In Blue
14. Forever Young
15. Every Grain of Sand

Baroque Recorder Concertos
Pamela Thorby with Sonnerie
SACD Surround Sound/SACD Stereo/CD Stereo

(Linn Records CKD 217)

On this album, recorder player Pamela Thorby is accompanied by Sonnerie in her performance of Baroque Recorder Concertos composed by Vivaldi, Telemann and Sammartini. Linn Records says that “Pamela Thorby has an international reputation as one of the most versatile and stylish recorder players of her generation. Her virtuoso playing can be heard on numerous CDs, ranging from music of the medieval period to the present day. Pamela is perhaps best known for her baroque playing with the Palladian Ensemble (with whom she has recorded nine acclaimed albums), but also as a soloist with the English Concert and many other eminent UK orchestras. Her Baroque Concertos CD for Linn Records received outstanding reviews in 2003.”

Album Selections
Vivaldi: Concerto per Flautino in G major
1. Untitled
2. Largo
3. Allegro molto

Telemann: Suite in A minor TWV 55:a2
4. Ouverture
5. Les Plaisirs
6. Air a L’italien
7. Menuet I & II
8. Rejouissance
9. Passepied I & II
10. Polonaise

Sammartini: Concerto in F major
11. Allegro
12. Untitled
13. Allegro assai

Vivaldi: Concerto per Flauto in C minor
14. Allegro non molto
15. Largo
16. Untitled

Vivaldi: Concerto per Flautino in C major
17. Allegro non molto
18. Largo
19. Allegro molto

The new Surround Sound Super Audio CDs are now in stock and available in the U.S. from the Acoustic Sounds and Elusive Disc web sites. They can also be found on the Linn Records web site as well as on web sites and stores in the U.K. and Europe.