Linn Records Releases Its 1st Multichannel SACD

Linn Products is best known as one of Europe’s premiere audiophile firms. Their products include high-end turntables, CD players, tuners, amplifiers and speakers. More recently, Linn has launched a music division known as Linn Records that issues high quality CDs and more recently Stereo SACDs to show off their equipment to best effect.

After issuing 10 Hybrid Stereo SACDs, Linn Records has just released its first Hybrid Multichannel/Stereo SACD. This SACD features Dame Gillian Weir and the English Chamber Orchestra in an organ recital that includes the Poulenc Concerto for Organ. Here are the details about this new Linn Classical Multichannel SACD release (Linn Records SACD CKD-180):

Album Liner Notes:
There can be no better way to highlight the potential SACD surround sound than with an organ recital. The technology reproduces the acoustic environment in a breathtakingly realistic manner. With this recording the organ is actually behind you (in the listening room), simply because that was the way it is in the chapel.

Dame Gillian Weir is one of today’s foremost organists. She has become established as a distinguished musician known for her virtuosity, integrity and outstanding musicianship, which, combined with a notable personal charisma have placed her in the forefront of her profession and won her the admiration of audiences and critics alike.

Other works on this new multichannel SACD are Barber – Toccata Festiva – a substantial piece with ravishing sonorities in both organ and orchestra parts.

Pierre Petit – Concertino – a premiere recording of this piece in which there is a clarity of texture and a lean, athletic energy which recall the music of Albert Rousell.

Featured Artists:
Gillian Weir – Organ
English Chamber Orchestra
David Hill – Conductor (Poulenc)
Raymond Leppard – Conductor (Petit, Barber)

Album Selections:
1. Poulenc: Concerto for Organ, Strings & Timpani in G Minor
2. Petit: Concertino for Organ, Strings & Percussion Allegro
3. Petit: Tres Lent
4. Petit: Modere
5. Barber: Toccata Festiva op. 36
Total Running Time 58:33

Linn Records – Classical – Hybrid Stereo SACDs

  • Linn CKD 168 – Held By The Ears – Palladian Ensemble with Pamela Thorby

    Linn Records – Jazz/Pop – Hybrid Stereo SACDs

  • Linn AKD 167 – Chanson: The Space In Between – Barb Jungr
  • Linn AKD 165 – New Folk Songs – Perfect Houseplants
  • Linn AKD 149 – Perfect Alibi – Claire Martin
  • Linn AKD 137 – Take My Heart – Claire Martin
  • Linn AKD 138 – The Sound Of Love – Tommy Smith
  • Linn AKD 136 – Bluesmith – Tommy Smith
  • Linn AKD 166 – The Optimist – Gerard Presencer
  • Linn AKD 139 – Platypus – Gerard Presencer
  • Linn AKD 131 – Next Move – Hue & Cry

    The Linn Records Stereo SACDs listed above are now available from record and web stores in Europe and the U.S. that carry SACDs.

    The new Multichannel SACD featuring the Poulenc Concerto for Organ is now available in Europe from several outlets including Linn Records directly, Vivante Music in the UK and Audioklubben ( in Sweden. The Multichannel SACD will be available in the U.S. in September.