Former Canned Heat Guitarist Walter Trout Releases SACD

Ruf Records in Germany has released a Surround Sound SACD edition of Walter Trout’s latest album entitled “Relentless”. Prior to the new SACD version, the album was released as a conventional Stereo CD and on DVD Video. The release is the label’s first venture in to the world of Super Audio CD.

Walter Trout is a well known blues guitarist who played in the rock/blues group Canned Heat during the 1980s. According to Ruf Records “In a BBC radio poll, Trout was ranked # 6 out of the top 20 all-time greatest guitarists (where a few more votes would’ve landed him snugly in the Top 5 amongst Jimi Hendrix and Jimmy Page!). Having played alongside some of the greatest names in Blues including John Lee Hooker, Big Mama Thornton, John Mayall & the Bluesbreakers and Canned Heat, the adage “six degrees of separation” certainly does not apply to world-renowned musician, Walter Trout.”

For his latest album entitled “Relentless”, Trout and his band (“the Radicals”) recorded a set of new songs live at The Paradiso in Amsterdam earlier this year in May. Ruf Records notes that the live recording is “recorded raw and unpolished, spontaneous, and very powerful… Relentless in other words!”

Album Tracks
1. I’m Tired
2. The Life I Chose
3. Jericho Road
4. Work No More
5. Cry If You Want To
6. Chatroom Girl
7. My Heart Is True
8. Lonely Tonight
9. Helpin’ Hand
10. Collingswood
11. Empty Eyes
12. The Best You Got
13. Mercy

The new Surround Sound SACD edition of Relentless is a Hybrid Layer Surround Sound SACD. It features SACD Surround Sound, SACD Stereo and CD Audio versions of the music on the album. It is playable on SACD, CD and SACD compatible DVD Video players.

The Surround Sound SACD of Relentless by Walter Trout was released by Ruf Records in Germany in October. It debuts this week in the U.S. market and is now in stock and available for purchase at Tower Records stores (it appears in the regular CD “Blues” section) as well as the Ruf Records, TowerRecords.Com and CD Universe.Com web sites. The SACD carries a list price of $19.99, $2 higher than the price of the conventional Stereo CD version of the album.