DVD-Audio Penetration Explodes – Over 700 Albums Available

The DVD-Audio Format is seeing exponential growth. To date, over one hundred and sixty DVD-Audio player models are available from more than thirty-five manufacturers. Over fourteen million players are already in the market, far outstripping the sales of competing audio formats, with player sales up 500% on the previous year. An estimated two million computer-based DVD-Audio players have shipped, from companies such as Creative Labs and InterVideo. Additionally, DVD-Audio discs play on all two hundred million DVD-Video players plus PS2 and Xbox consoles.

Title availability has increased dramatically, and now is well over seven hundred titles with a significant number of albums being released over the next few months.


  • Frampton, Peter – ‘Frampton Comes Alive’ (A&M)
  • Gaye, Marvin – ‘Let’s Get It On’ (Motown)
  • Neville, Aaron – ‘Nature Boy: The Standards Album’ (Verve)
  • Oldfield, Mike – ‘Tubular Bells 2003’ (Warner Brothers Records)
  • Sanborn, David – ‘timeagain’ (Verve)


  • Academy of St. James/Pini – ‘Bach: Brandenburg Concertos’ (Silverline Classics)
  • Bad Haggis with Rubйn Blades – ‘One Special Day’ (AIX Records)
  • Baltimore Symphony Orchestra/Comissiona – ‘Tchaikovsky: Symphony No. 4 (Silverline Classics)
  • Grant Geissman Quintet – ‘There and Back Again’ (AIX Records)
  • London Symphony Orchestra – ‘Monteux Conducts Tchaikovsky’ (Silverline Classics)
  • Moist – ‘Machine Punch Through – The Singles Collection’ (Silverline Records)
  • Porcupine Tree – ‘In Absentia’ (DTS Entertainment)
  • Simons, Keaton – ‘Drive Away’ (AIX Records)
  • Slaughter – ‘Then and Now’ (Silverline Records)
  • Steely Dan – ‘Gaucho’ (MCA Records)
  • Surf City Allstars – ‘I Get Surround’ (AIX Records)
  • Various – ‘Saint-Saлns: “Organ” Symphony and Franck: Symphony in D Minor’ (Silverline Classics)
  • Vienna State Opera Orchestra/Rossi – ‘Prokofiev: Peter and the Wolf (narrated by Boris Karloff) and the Lt. Kije Symphonic Suite’ (Silverline Classics)


  • Browne, Jackson – ‘The Naked Ride Home’ (Warner Brothers Records)
  • Browne, Jackson – ‘Running On Empty’ (Warner Brothers Records)
  • Chicago – ‘X’ (Warner Brothers Records)
  • Grandmaster Flash, The Furrious Five, Grandmaster Melle Mel – ‘Greatest Hits – The Furious Five – The Greatest Hits, Grandmaster Melle Mel’ (Warner Music Group/Silverline Records)
  • Hiatt, John – ‘Bring the Family’ (A&M)
  • John, Elton – ‘Goodbye Yellow Brick Road’ (Island Records)
  • Police, The – ‘Every Breath You Take’ (A&M)
  • R. Kelly – ‘Chocolate Factory’ (BMG)
  • Sinatra, Frank – ‘Frank Sinatra and Jobim’ (Warner Brothers Records)
  • Sinatra, Frank – ‘September Of My Years’ (Warner Brothers Records)
  • Spears, Britney – ‘In the Zone’ (BMG)
  • Sugar Hill Gang – ‘The Best Of Sugar Hill Gang’ (Warner Brothers Records/Silverline Records)
  • Utah Symphony Orchestra /Abravanel – ‘Brahms: Symphony No.1’ (Silverline Classics)
  • Utah Symphony Orchestra /Abravanel – ‘Mahler: Symphony No.1’ (Silverline Classics)
  • Utah Symphony Orchestra/Abravanel – ‘Tchaikovsky: Swan Lake’ (Silverline Classics)
  • Utah Symphony Orchestra /Abravanel – ‘Vaughan-Williams: Symphony No.6’ (Silverline Classics)
  • Who, The – ‘Tommy’ (MCA Records)


  • B 52’s – ‘Cosmic Thing’ (Warner Brothers Records)
  • Cars, The – ‘1st Album’ (Warner Brothers Records)
  • Crosby, David – ‘If I Could Only Remember My Name’ (Warner Brothers Records)
  • Harris, Emmylou – ‘Roses In The Snow’ (Warner Brothers Records)
  • Nash, Graham – ‘Songs For Beginners’ (Warner Brothers Records)
  • R.E.M. – ‘Green’ (Warner Brothers Records)
  • R.E.M. – ‘Monster’ (Warner Brothers Records)
  • R.E.M. – ‘New Adventures in Hi-Fi’ (Warner Brothers Records)
  • R.E.M. – ‘Out Of Time’ (Warner Brothers Records)
  • R.E.M. – ‘Up’ (Warner Brothers Records)
  • Stills, Stephen – ‘Stephen Sills’ (Warner Brothers Records)
  • Styx – ‘Cyclorama’ (Silverline Records)
  • Utah Symphony Orchestra/Abravanel – ‘Brahms: Symphonies Nos.2 & 3’ (Silverline Classics)
  • Utah Symphony Orchestra/Abravanel – ‘Fiddle Faddle, 15 Favorites by Leroy Anderson’ (Silverline Classics)
  • Utah Symphony Orchestra/Abravanel – ‘Rachmaninov: Symphony No.3’ (Silverline Classics)
  • Utah Symphony Orchestra/Abravanel – ‘Mahler: Symphony No.2’ (Silverline Classics)
  • Utah Symphony Orchestra/Abravanel – ‘Sibelius: Symphony Nos.1 & 4’ (Silverline Classics)
  • Widespread Panic – ‘Don’t Tell The Band’ (Silverline Records)
  • Williams, Paul – ‘Going Back There Someday’ (AIX Records)


  • Big Head Todd And The Monsters – ‘Crimes of Passion’ (Silverline Records)


  • Raitt, Bonnie – ‘Nick of Time’ (EMI Recorded Music)

About the DVD-Audio Council:

Universal Music Group, Warner Music Group, BMG, J Records, Silverline Records, Arista Records, The Atlantic Group, Elektra Entertainment Group, Capitol, Warner Music Latina, Virgin, Angel/Blue Note, EMI Latina, Rhino, 5.1 Entertainment Group, RCA, Reprise, Geffen Records, Interscope, A&M, Island Def Jam Music Group, Lost Highway Records, Mercury, MCA Nashville, Motown Records, Universal Classics, Universal Records, Universal Music Enterprises, Universal Music Latino, Verve Music Group, Warner Bros. Records., Myutopia Recordings, AIX Records, DTS Entertainment, EMI Recorded Music, Meridian Audio, Dolby Laboratories, Creative Labs and Panasonic (MEI) are all members of the DVD Audio Council. The DVD-Audio Council serves as a complete resource for all press, technical and marketing information related to the DVD-Audio format in the United States and Europe. The council’s mission is to educate hardware and software retailers to the benefits and features of DVD-Audio while simultaneously promoting consumer awareness of this evolutionary format.