David Elias Turns to SACD Surround Sound for Latest Album

Folk singer and songwriter David Elias has turned to SACD for his latest album release entitled “The Window”. Rather than release a traditional Stereo Audio CD, Elias put out his new album as a single inventory, Hybrid Surround Sound SACD which is playable on SACD, CD and SACD compatible DVD Video players.

Elias is a well known independent artist who markets his albums through his own web site and independent artist web sites like CD Baby. So the release of this SACD is a new adventure for him.

“The Window” features David Elias and an all star band performing 13 tracks written by Elias. The music was recorded live at Immersive Studios in Boulder, Colorado on November 24th, 25th and 26th, 2002. The sessions were captured direct to the Sony Sonoma 8 Channel Direct Stream Digital (DSD) workstation by Gus Skinas of the Sony SACD Project’s Boulder, Colorado office.

David Elias describes the new Surround SACD by saying that

“The Window has gone from being simply an idea of recording an acoustic band, live in a studio, to being a Super Audio CD (SACD) in Surround Sound (Multichannel). We recorded material live as a full band for 3 days. The multichannel result is something you don’t often get to hear. A 5.1 surround sound playback of a live studio recording without cut/paste edits or overdubs. Both the texture and the space come through in the playback, and are most present when listening to the disc on an SACD multichannel audio system. If it sounds “really live” it’s because it was recorded that way in Direct Stream Digital (DSD) with multichannel playback in mind. It’s as if you are sitting in the middle of the studio listening to the band recording.”

Sony’s SACD Project says “The Window” is

“the very first Hybrid Multichannel SACD to be released by an independent (unsigned) artist. It was recorded live at Immersive Studios in Boulder, Colorado with the best technology available to capture all the ambient characteristics of a live acoustic band.”

Album Performers

  • David Elias – Acoustic Guitar, Vocal & Harmonica
  • Sally Van Meter – Dobro, Weissenborn & Lap Steel
  • Matt Flinner – Mandolin & Bouzouki
  • Ross Martin – Electric & Baritone Guitars
  • Eric Thorin – Upright Bass
  • Marc Dalio – Drums
  • John Magnie – Keyboards & Accordion

Album Tracks

  1. Freedom On The Freeway
  2. Summer Wind
  3. Go Down Easy
  4. The Old King
  5. Something About You
  6. Half An Hour Away (Intro)
  7. Half An Hour Away
  8. Her Name Is A.
  9. Transcendental Deprivation Part III
  10. Season Of The Fall
  11. The Window (Intro)
  12. The Window
  13. Picture Of Nothing

A Reference Quality Recording
Often owners of new SACD players and systems seek out reference quality SACD discs to really see what their system is capable of. After listening to The Window, I’d have to say that this SACD falls into that category. It features very well done Stereo and Surround SACD mixes of the music on the album.

The detail of the instruments and vocals on the album are outstanding and really show what a well made high resolution audio disc can sound like. This one is bound to be a favorite of folks music and bluegrass fans as well as SACD fans who want to listen to a well recorded album.

According to the album’s liner notes, The Window was produced by David Elias & KC Groves and the live mix was done by studio engineer Jeff Shuey. The album’s DSD Recording, DSD Sonoma Mix and DSD Mastering for the SACD was performed by Gus Skinas of Sony’s SACD Project Office in Boulder, Colorado.

The Window by David Elias is in stock and available for purchase from the Acoustic Sounds web site as well as the CD Baby independent music web site and from David Elias directly.