Bryan Ferry Recaptures Live Performance On SACD

Virgin Records has released Bryan Ferry’s new album, Frantic, on Multichannel Super Audio CD (Virgin UK SACDVIR 167). This latest new album started with an experiment by musicians in the studio and sees Ferry searching for a way to capture a live performance on disc and reduce the amount of post-production, thereby leaving a natural, live sound.

According to Virgin Records UK, the use of the Super Audio CD format, mixed in multi-channel by Bob Clearmountain, produces an incredible transparency and faithfulness to the original master, which was recorded at RAK Studios and Studio One in London.

“We started by cutting a few Dylan songs and some other covers this way and were really surprised how well they turned out. Baby Blue and Don’t Think Twice are both live vocal performances,” explained Rhett Davies, co-producer of Frantic along with Colin Good and Bryan Ferry. “Since finishing the project, I’ve bought a Super Audio CD player and I think it is the way forward. Certainly, we shall produce the forthcoming Roxy Music Live album for Super Audio CD release.”

Christoph Poessinger, manager pre-production & new formats at Virgin Records in Germany sees advantages from producing music in this new high-definition digital audio format. “Listening to this Super Audio CD guides you through Bryan’s music world and you can feel so much more of the essence and emotion from his performance.”

Album Tracks:
1. It’s All Over Now Baby Blue
2. Cruel
3. Goin Down
4. Goddess Of Love
5. Don’t Think Twice (It’s Alright)
6. Nobody Loves Me
7. Ja Hun Hons Pris
8. Fool For Love
9. Goodnight Irene
10. Hiroshima
11. San Simeon
12. One Way Love
13. I Thought

Background to Frantic
Frantic was recorded at RAK Studios and Studio One in London.
Produced by Rhett Davies, Colin Good and Bryan Ferry
Additional Production included:
“Goodnight Irene” and “Hiroshima” – Robin Trower
“One Way Love” – Dave Stewart
Engineered by Neil Brockbank, Ash Howes, Michael Boddy, Sven Taits, Mark Tucker, Richard Norris and Nick Addison
Assistant engineers Kevin Harp, Dan Grech-Marguerat
Mastered by Bob Ludwig at Gateway Studios
Mixed by Bob Clearmountain

The Multichannel/Stereo SACD of Frantic by Bryan Ferry is now available from the Red Trumpet web site in the United States as an import as well as in record stores and web sites in the UK and Europe.