Bruce Cockburn and Grant Lee Philips – Latest Rounder SACDs

Rounder Records continues its series of SACD discs with new releases by Bruce Cockburn and Grant Lee Philips. Both releases are Hybrid Stereo SACDs, playable on all CD and SACD players. Here’s a bit more information on each disc:

Anything, Anytime, Anywhere (Singles 1979-2002)
Bruce Cockburn
Rounder SACD 3180

Born in Ottawa in 1945, Cockburn set his sights on a career in music after growing up listening to Elvis records. In 1965, he moved back to Ottawa to play in a series of rock ‘n’ roll bands. Cockburn eventually found his voice as a songwriter drawing upon instinctive spirituality, a keen eye for detail, and a wry sense of humor. By then he had also developed a highly personal finger-picking guitar style that merged Mississippi John Hurt blues with modal jazz harmony as well as melodic lyricism and cycling rhythms that suggested an ear for Indian, Asian, and African music. Cockburn’s remarkable journey plays out in the 16 songs on his new greatest hits compilation, Anything Anytime Anywhere (Singles 1979-2002).

Album Selections:

  1. My Beat
  2. Wondering Where the Lions Are
  3. Tokyo
  4. Rumours Of Glory
  5. The Coldest Night of the Year
  6. The Trouble With Normal
  7. Lovers in a Dangerous Time
  8. If I Had a Rocket Launcher
  9. Call It Democracy
  10. Waiting for a Miracle
  11. If a Tree Falls
  12. A Dream Like Mine
  13. Listen for the Laugh
  14. Night Train
  15. Pacing the Cage
  16. Last Night of the World
  17. Anything Anytime Anywhere

Grant Lee Philips
Zoe/Rounder SACD 1021

Mobilize is the solo debut album from Grant Lee Phillips, the voice behind the group Grant Lee Buffalo. Mobilize features the influence of technology, fusing electronic textures, thick dance beats and exotic effects with Phillips’ melodies, voice and lyrics. The album was produced by Grant-Lee Phillips and Carmen Rizzo.

Album Selections:

  1. See America
  2. Humankind
  3. Love’s a Mystery
  4. Sadness Soot
  5. We All Get a Taste
  6. Spring Released
  7. Lazily Drowning
  8. Like a Lover
  9. Mobilize
  10. Beautiful Dreamers
  11. Sleepless Lake
  12. April Chimes

The Bruce Cockburn and Grant Lee Philips SACDs are now available from the Acoustic Sounds and Elusive Disc web sites. They should be available through the Rounder Records web site and Tower Records stores shortly.