Bill Cunliffe Trios Live at Bernies Session on SACD

Thousands of albums of all types have been mastered at Bernie Grundman’s studios in Hollywood. But pianist Bill Cunliffe’s Live At Bernie’s is the first to actually be recorded there. The album has been previously released on vinyl album and regular CD. This week it is now available on a Hybrid Stereo SACD disc (Groove Note SACD GRV 1009-3).

About The Session
Bernie Grundman Mastering, long known as one of the top mastering labs in the U.S., was transformed for this occasion. The waiting room was converted into a studio. A nine foot Hamburg Steinway piano, signed by the magnificent Sergei Rachmaninoff interpreter Ruth Laredo among others, was brought in for Cunliffe to play.

The session involved a direct-to-disc recording that yielded a limited number (only 3,300 copies pressed) of numbered, limited edition vinyl albums. The project was also recorded digitally with Sony’s Direct Stream Digital process (DSD) for both Super Audio (SACD) and regular CD release. The Highlights of the sessions were written up in Stereophile Magazine.

A Word About The Bill Cunliffe Trio
The Bill Cunliffe Trio features Joe La Barbera (drums), Derek Oleszkiewicz (bass) and Bill Cunliffe, one of the leading West Coast jazz pianists with several albums to his credit. His background includes stints in the Buddy Rich Band and the Clayton-Hamilton Jazz Orchestra, and he has recorded for several labels including Concord Jazz, Naxos and Discovery. Cunliffe has also toured with Frank Sinatra and most recently with Natalie Cole.

Album Selections
The SACD and CD versions of the album feature two songs (Sharon and Imagine) that did not appear on the direct-to-disc vinyl LP issue. The album selections on the SACD version are as follows:

1. Satin Doll
2. Waltz For Debby
3. Ireland
4. Amusing Paramours
5. Sharon
6. Jean
7. Excursions
8. Like A Dream
9. The Way You Look Tonight
10. Imagine