Arts Music Announce Handel and Wagner DVD-Audio Titles

Arts Music have announced two new classical music DVD-Audio titles, ‘The Messiah’ by George Frideric Handel and a collection of overtures and preludes by Richard Wagner.

Handel’s ‘The Messiah’, with a playing time of 141 minutes, features Lynne Dawson (soprano), Guillemette Laurens (mezzo-soprano), Charles Daniels (tenor) and Antonio Abete (bass) with the Coro della Radio Svizzera and I Barocchisti, conducted by Diego Fasolis

The performance was recorded in June 2000 in Lugano, Switzerland, and will be released as catalogue number ARTS 45007-6.

Handel’s MessiahHandel’s ‘The Messiah’ to be released by Arts Music

Overtures and Preludes’, a collection of compositions by Richard Wagner features the rarely performed first version of the Prelude to Act 3 of ‘Thannhдuser’ and is the first DVD-Audio disc to include the Overture to ‘King Enzio’.

Performed by the Robert Schumann Philharmonie Chemnitz, conducted by Oleg Caetani, ‘Overtures and Preludes’ runs a shade over 75 minutes and will be released as catalogue number ARTS 45004-6.

The track list is as follows:

  1. The Flying Dutchman (Overture)
  2. Lohengrin (Prelude to Act 1)
  3. Lohengrin (Prelude to Act 3)
  4. King Enzio (Overture)
  5. Tannhдuser (Overture)
  6. Tannhдuser (Prelude to Act 3)
  7. Die Walkьre (The Ride of the Valkyries)
  8. The Mastersingers of Nuremberg (Prelude to Act 1)

Both discs feature high-resolution multi-channel audio at 24-bit 96kHz and a multi-channel Dolby Digital track for DVD-Video compatibility.