Alison Krauss Releases 1st Multichannel SACD

Rounder Records has announced the release of the album “New Favorite” by Alison Krauss and Union Station on Hybrid Multichannel SACD disc (Rounder SACD 11661-0495-6). The CD version of the album was recently officially certified Gold (500,000 in sales) by the Recording Industry Association of America (R.I.A.A.) – the fastest Gold record ever for Krauss.

This certification comes on the heels of winning three Grammy awards last month, including Best Bluegrass Album (for New Favorite), Best Country Performance By a Duo or Group with Vocal (for “The Lucky One” from New Favorite), and one for her work on the acclaimed O Brother, Where Art Thou? soundtrack, which won Album of the Year.

The National Academy of Recording Arts & Sciences (N.A.R.A.S.) also recently confirmed that Alison Krauss is now the all-time top female country artist for Grammy Awards, having won a total of 13. She is two behind all-time female leader Aretha Franklin, who has won 15.

Alison Krauss + Union Station are currently on tour, with dates spanning across the Northeast. In June, they will kick off the second leg of their “Down from the Mountain” tour dates, which will last through the summer.

Over the past 15 years, Alison Krauss + Union Station have helped bluegrass grow from a regional art form to nationwide acceptance. Winner of three Grammy awards, New Favorite is a full-band effort, featuring Dan Tyminski (the singing voice of George Clooney in the movie) on guitar, mandolin, and two lead vocals, Ron Block on banjo, guitar and vocals, Jerry Douglas on Dobro, and Barry Bales on bass and vocals. The result is a masterful blend of voices and instruments, of styles and of souls. With 13 tracks of hard-driving bluegrass, introspective ballads, and everything in-between, some have said that New Favorite stands as the definitive Alison Krauss + Union Station album.

Track Listings
1. Let Me Touch You For Awhile
2. The Boy Who Wouldn’t Hoe Corn
3. The Lucky One
4. Choctaw Hayride
5. Crazy Faith
6. Momma Cried
7. I’m Gone
8. Daylight
9. Bright Sunny South
10. Stars
11. It All Comes Down To You
12. Take Me For Longing
13. New Favorite

Stereo SACDs from Rounder Records
While New Favorite represents the 1st Multichannel SACD from Alison Krauss and Rounder Records, the label has release 5 prior Hybrid Stereo SACDs. All 5 of these albums have won strong reviews from SACD fans.

These SACDs include:

  • Now That I’ve Found You: A Collection by Alison Krauss (Rounder SACD 11661-0325-6)
  • Forget About It by Alison Krauss (Rounder SACD 11661-0465-6)
  • Angel In The Dark by Laura Nyro (Rounder SACD 11661-3176-6)
  • In My Hands by Natalie Mac Master (Rounder SACD 11661-7025-6)
  • Open by the Cowboy Junkies (Zoe/Rounder SACD 01143-1020-6)

    Now Available
    The New Favorite SACD is now available from Acoustic Sounds and Rounder Records. It will be available from other web and retail stores that carry SACDs shortly.